Upcycle Assistance

Good evening Ladies and… (Runs to check followers)… Nope, just ladies I think. I am in need of your amazing creative brains.

My sewing adventures started a year ago with an upcycle project. I transformed a fairly normal skirt into this raunchy bustle skirt for a steampunk themed evening that me and Tobi went to.

I completed a few more upcycle projects but then fell in love with the control and creativity that can be found when making a garment from scratch so my upcycle pile has become somewhat neglected. However, with the weather brightening up and Spring being firmly here i want to wear more skirts and dresses- which brings me to the point of this waffle.

20140416-103421.jpg

This gorgeous number is a Vanity project dress by Limb clothing that I bought about two years ago, before I started sewing. I was at my skinniest at the time and managed to squeeze myself into a size 12. However I have since put on weight and it no longer fits but it is far too beautiful to go to a charity shop and I’d love to turn into something wearable.

This is where you lovely people come in as I need help deciding what to do with it. The logical head in me says turn it into a skirt, but that would mean slicing in half the panels and loosing half of the gorgeous Alexander Henry fabrics design.

20140416-133515.jpg

What would you lovely people do with this gem? I want to use as much of that precious fabric as I can and I think I may have to take the whole thing apart to use the panels. The person who comments below with the best suggestion will win the prize of me attempting to make whatever has been suggested. Just a few guidelines- I don’t sew bags/ accessories at all really and I don’t do quilts. So come on my lovelies, tell me what to do!

20140416-133839.jpg

20140416-133858.jpg

2 thoughts on “Upcycle Assistance

  1. It’s a bit difficult to tell what the original shaping is, because the pics are small (and I have bad eyes!) and the print is busy (cool but busy).

    My first thought was to open up the side seams & insert a panel to widen the dress, and keep it wearable in a way that’s as close to how you loved it in the first place. A plain black side panel would be flattering, and not take anything away fromm the base fabric which is brill.

    Or I’d cut big panels out of the basic fabric, and appliqué them onto a straight or a-line skirt. Maybe have the base skirt in the orange from the feathers or pinky-red from the roses, to match the print (I’m trying to get out of the habit of making black skirts for myself, which is why I’m thinking of a strong colour). Then I’d probably add a bit more embellishment, with some embroidery, sequins and beading, because that print can certainly take it, and because that’s the way I roll!

Leave a Reply

