Getting my Sewjo back

Hello all. Apologies for the radio silence- there’s been lots of reasons for it the main one really I guess is that I suffer from Depression and, since I’ve had kids, once a month Mother Nature gives me and emotional punch in the face. I’ve had failed projects and had to make relly tough decisions at work, so generally only stuff to grumble about. As I don’t want to be miserble in the blog I’ve just avoided writing for the past week or so. But I am here now!

So, It’s May, which means Me Made May ’14. This year is my first time for Me Made May, the brainchild of Zoe over as So Zo, and my challenge, as you may remember, was to wear four me made items a week during the month of May. Now that might not sound like a lot but bear in mind that I’ve only been sewing for a year and some of my earlier garments have shocking mistakes and incredibly wonky stitching in places. I was looking at my wardrobe this evening and feeling despondent. I think I counted 27 different, wearable me made items in the wardrobe so I should just about squeeze through my pledge

I guess there are three elements to my problem a) fledgling fitting skills (which have been put seriously to the test this week in a WIP I’ve tweeted about but yet to blog) b) working with effectively a budget of nil; I can’t afford the beautiful fabrics and patterns- opting for #charityshopbargains, free patterns and questionable drafting skills and finally c) blog envy! I follow so many (95 at last count) amazingly talented sewers and the green eyed monster comes out when I see Dolly Clackett’s latest ‘home sewing is easy’ dress, all the gorgeous CoCo’s and Oona’s technicolor marvels.

But, I don’t want to be down about it and I’m going to use Me Made May to try and re-engage with my makes.   I’ve  also been feeling dispondent due to that aforementionned failed WIP.   You may have seen my perforated pointy boobies on Twitter.   I was trying to make this dress using probably the wrong fabric and couldn’t stop my bust darts being super pointy.   After a million muslins…

… I gave up, threw the WIP back into the box and sulked for several days.   I’m now planning to rescue it but just using the skirt pieces and make a button front skirt, but I’ve yet to motivate myself to start it.  What I have been doing to get my Sewjo back is this.

A recycled jeans rug.   I have two small children and did have a red shagpile rug but this had been ruined by the kids dropping Mini Babybel wax, stickers, sweets and other small children into the rug never to been seen again.   In short we were in desperate need of a new rug.   Thankfully Tobi has lost lots of weight recently so there were 6 pairs of jeans in my refashion pile.   A lot of cutting and seaming later and I have a beautiful new and free rug which is washable and hard wearing, perfect when you have a three and four year old running round.

I only used the legs of the jeans for this project, i was thinking of sewing the back pockets on randomly but I liked how it looked without and didn’t want to detract from the different colours of the denim.   All I did was cut the legs into strips about 3″ wide then sewed them into strips and then joined the strips together to form one big sheet.   Unfortunately the big sheet ended up wonky.

Must have stretched one side more than the other.   I didn’t have a big enough template to cut a rectangle from so I cunningly used my coffee table and measured equally along the edges to the size I wanted.

I backed the rug with a blue spotty canvas which came from Big Nana’s stash and i had no idea what to do with it.   Just got to show you the insides- so many seam allowanes!

I bought some mustard colour top stitch thread and topstitched round the outside to keep in fairly flat and stitch up the hole I used to turn it right way round.   I pretty much love this rug and is cost me exactly £1.60- the cost of one 30m reel of Gutterman topstitch thread from my local teeny tiny haberdashery and craft shop (Pennies in Andover if anyone’s interested).

 

So there’s lots of positives with this project.

1) It was practically free

2) Washable and hard wearing

3) Got me back behind the sewing machine after the epic strop over pointy boobiliciousness.

 

I will get back to garment sewing and I have actually just order my first ever independent pattern, The Emery Dress, from Christine Haynes.   I’m fed up of struggling with free patterns and this dress fits all my requirements, including the all elusive sleeves- am I the only woman in the world that wants to hide her horrible bingo wings?   Just got to work out how to fit t my weird body shape- I’ve discovered my bust measurement is now the same as my waist- how does that work, I’m a sausage from the waist up.

Anyway, thanks to all whom gave me advice on the pointy boobs on Twitter and I look forward to showing you the skirt soon.   Keep up with me on Twitter and Flickr to see my photos (more or less daily) for me-made may 2014.

See ya next time dudes.

 

7 thoughts on “Getting my Sewjo back

  1. Heehee! I love that you turned your coffee table into your rectangle template! Good luck with the recovery of your sewjo (and your general mojo- depression is a git).

  2. As a quilter who joins lots of strips together, can I suggest that if you ever do that again you join the strips from alternate ends which will help eliminate that curve. I do enjoy your blog – just getting back into clothes sewing myself

    • Thanks for the advice. I actually quite like the curve now but it did puzzle my brain for a while how to get it straight again. I’ve just ordered 3 indie sewing patterns for the first time ever so can’t wait to get into expanding my wardrobe.

  3. I love this rug! I’m a “novice” myself so I can relate to all your struggles! And, I think you’re my sleeve soulmate lol. I never NOT wear a sleeve…I lost 90lbs and I’m too poor for an arm lift. All in all, I’d say we’re kindred spirits 😉 Keep up the good work. Practice makes perfect.

  4. I came across your blog via the pointy boob issue – boy, I had the same problem, same million muslins, same stroppyness. Still haven’t figured out why this is happening… Oh well, plenty of other dresses to sew. Good luck with your new patterns!

Leave a Reply

