All The Fun of the Fair- Blog Hop & GIVEAWAY

Hoppity skippety jump- welcome to my first blog hop!

I was recently contacted and asked to take part in the blog hop for this adorable new stuffed toy pattern book, All the Fun of the Fair by Australian Designer of Melly and Me fame, Melanie McNiece.

This book brings the reader five adorable toy patterns, based on the fair ground theme- there is a pony, a whole parade of elephants, a Lion, a Seal and cheeky monkies. It’s available in paper-back from October and if you pre-order the book through StitchCraftCreate.co.uk you receive a free electronic copy of the book


Now, I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of this book, being primarily a garment sewer, but the patterns were too adorable to pass over. I’ve only made one soft toy in the past and this was a knitted armadillo. I was therefore a bit apprehensive about my abilities and the skills I’d need. I decided to make the seal, who looked the most straightforward of all of the patterns. I’ll tell you this for nothing, it was easy peasey!


The instructions throughout are clear, with very helpful diagrams and a section in the back for the special stitches you will need in the construction. I certainly needed these as I haven’t done any embroidery ever so I needed some hand holding. The diagrams were clear and easy to follow and also had instructions on how to sink the knots into the body of the toy so they’re not seen- I had no idea how to do this previously and so my last toy make lost his eyes pretty early on. The templates are printed on pages in the back of the book, meaning that you’ll have to trace off the majority of them, as some pieces overlap or need joining together (Mr. Seal’s body piece is in two parts which are joined together when tracing off). This is no big deal though as the pieces are quite small and so this step took me ten minutes, maximum. The pattern pieces are full-size and to scale and also include a ¼” seam allowance.
I wasn’t sure about the make as it progressed but the part that really cinched the deal was as I started stuffing him. Slowly but surely I started seeing just how cute this little fellow is. When he was done my two children, aged 5 and 3, immediately fell in love with him and demanded a version in girly colours as well as all of the other animals from the book. Sure enough the girly version was lovingly nursed into being, before being promptly thrown over our neighbours fence by my daughter.

Everyone I have shown my little chip-chip to (as my children named the seal) have been blown over by how adorable he is and how professional he looks.

whoops just realised my washing’s in the background in this picture!

These animals have torn me away from my love of garment sewing for a while, which shows just how beautiful the patterns are.
If you like the look of this book head on over to Stitchcraftcreate.co.uk to have a look. They also have a large range of other sewing books which you may find interesting.

 

GIVEAWAY!!!
The best bit is that I have been generously given a paperback copy of this gorgeous book to give away to one of my lucky readers. So, if you would like a chance to win a copy of this adorable book please leave me a comment below and tell me which animal you’d make first. The competition is open until midnight UK time on Monday 13th October when I will pick a winner at random. The competition is open internationally. Good luck
Disclaimer: I received an electronic copy of this book, free of charge, to take part in the blog but the opinions are all my own.

19 thoughts on “All The Fun of the Fair- Blog Hop & GIVEAWAY

  1. Lovely toys. If I won, I would make the monkey for a good friend you loves monkeys and I know would adore one specially for her xx. I also have promised to do something for a charity auction, and I think the horse would be perfect for that

  2. I loved the seals that you made and can vouch for how professional they are 🙂 If I had the book…and a sewing machine, I would probably make a seal first too 😀

    • Thanks Angela. Maya insisted on the bow, found it herself from a broken hair clip in her bedroom and then chose the tiniest butting for me to see on the top. Was a little tricky but does look super cute.

  3. They’re all so cute it’s hard to pick a favourite. I think I would go for the horse but change it up for a zebra for my SIL. Thank you for the chance.
    I’ve been snooping through your blog and find it a wonderful place to visit, I do believe I’ll sit a spell.

Leave a Reply

