The Knitting and Stitching Show and Giveaway Results

Look at me go, two posts in one week.   I’m still trying to find the perfect window of time to get some pics of finished makes done.   However rain and Tobi working the last two weekends has meant it’s been impossible so far.   Do not fret, it’ll be worth the wait. I’ve been pretty productive since I got a dedicated sewing space in our new house.

I’m not just here to waffle at you though.   I want to tell you about the Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace that I went to courtesy of a giveaway from Charlie at This Blog is Not For You.   I don’t have any sewing friends in real life and I wasn’t sure who to take with me.   Tobi volunteered but I pointed out he’d have to trail behind me while I bored him with sewing talk all day.   The plan then changed to him sitting in a cafe while I gawped but I thought I might as well go on my own.  My mother-in-law, Jayne, has been talking about getting a new sewing machine, after her last one was pronounced dead when it went in for a repair.   Like most of us, with our different shaped bodies, Jayne finds it difficult to find ready to wear clothes that fit well and so plans to alter charity shop buys to fit.   So, she seemed like the best person to ask to come with me and she agreed immediately.   Yay! the first day out with just the two of us.   Now, I know for some people this would be their worst nightmare but Jayne and I get on really well so I was really looking forward to the day.   Plus, FABRIC!!!!!

Although Andover is only and hour away from London on a direct train, we had to get across London on the tube and catch another train. Despite leaving Andover at 9:46 we didn’t get to Alexandra Palace until about 12:15.   I think the entrance was like a magical portway that induced a slightly maniacal grin from the moment I entered to the moment I left.

I wish we’d had more time to look at the galleries as we missed big chunks- I was too set on the shopping, having been told the night before by Tobi that my budget was about three times what I had originally planned.   We did see some amazing textile artists though.   As soon as you enter you were greeted by the knitted Pergoda, complete with budgies and a birds nest.

I did tear myself away from the shopping to see this lovely delicate head made of thread.   Unfortunately I didn’t make note of the maker.

My favourite display however was the Renate Keeping display with these amazing stuffed heads.

This Granny stole the show for me.   She had whiskers round her mouth and everything.   They reminded me of all of my social work clients, in a good way.

So I bet you want to see the haul.   I blew half my budget on this lovely mutli-coloured dahlia print on the Lady Sew and Sew stand.   This colourway is all of my favourite colours all bundled into one and the fabric feels really soft.   I have a feeling it’s going to be worth the money.

This is my favourite though- The COWS!!!   As my lovely friend, Chelsea, put it- it’s amoozing!   I had to have it as I’d seen this dress by Vanity Project dresses with the same fabric.   I practically elbowed someone out of the way to get my hands on the bolt.   I love the way it just looks like a black and white pattern from a distance but up close you see it’s a herd of beautiful bovine.

Last but not least was this lovely African Wax print.   It’s only half a metre but I’ve wanted to add some wax print to my stash after seeing so many amazing makes around the blogosphere, so it was snapped up.

Thank you again, Charlie, for your amazing giveaway.

 

On to the Giveaway.

Thank you to everyone who commented on the All the fun of the Fair post.   I’m glad you liked the makes.   They’re still much loved by my brood. And now, drumroll please…. the winner, chosen by the scientific method of putting names in a hat is…..

Congratulations, Bunty W!  Please e-mail me your postal details at sewcial.warrior@gmail.com so I can get your prize out to you asap.   To all of you who didn’t win you can still grab your own copy over at stitchcraftcreate.com and you can be stitching up your own animals in now time.

Catch you again guys.

2 thoughts on “The Knitting and Stitching Show and Giveaway Results

  1. Pingback: An Autumnal Emery Dress | Sewcial Warrior

Leave a Reply

